AARC Meeting Minutes 12/8/2020

Meeting called to order by Ed Berkowitz, AARC President, at 7:00 PM. Meeting held via Zoom.

This is our annual Awards ceremony held through Zoom and there was no banquet due to pandemic.

Treasurer's Report – Don Eason:

Beginning Balance: \$24,564.70

Checks:\$0.00Deposits:\$333.14 (Dues, Donation and Amazon Quarterly Donation-\$25.19)

Ending Balance: \$24,897.84

New Members voted into club:

KO4JMI
KO4JMK
KO4FDU
KO4JMO

VP report – Larry Eicher:

Future speakers in 2021: January meeting is club elections. February – Alfred Wanderlingh from Batteries Plus. New VP elected will develop list of speakers for 2021.

Nominations for new club officers and directors – Dave Damon:

3 Directors not up for reelection (terms expire next year): A.J. Miller, Bob Pattison, Paul McKee.

3 directors up for reelection: Gordon- tech committee; Jim Owen - estate cmte; John Porter -Public Service. John Porter will not run for this position in 2021 4 officers nominated for election: Ed Berkowitz – President John Porter – VP Don Eason – Treasurer Steve Kramer – Secretary

Annual Awards Presentation by Jim Wilson:

Jim organized the awards presentation for this year. He thanked everyone who volunteered in 2020 and thanked his son, KD4MCW, for helping prepare the certificates. Several members presented the awards in a particular area.

See attached list below for all awardees and congratulations to all of them.

Jim Wilson thanked awards presenters.

Joe DeVincentis mentioned there will be an ARES exercise Northern Piedmont group Saturday, December 12, 2020 at 10 AM on 80 meters 3.947 MHz. It is an exercise in setting up antennas.

Mike McPherson: ARES group, thanks to hard work, have done field exercises once a month and even 2 field exercises monthly in recent months.

Ed reminded everyone that there will be no dues for 2021 due to pandemic.

Reminder of Zoom meeting for "Wood Grill group" that meets on Wednesdays at 11 am.

Meeting adjourned at 7:46 PM by Ed. Members welcome to stay and chat on Zoom session.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Kramer, Secretary

Final Awards for the December 8, 2020 AARC meeting

2020 Monthly Programs: Presented by Larry, K4JZQ

Tim Miller KG4HOT and Jason Gnatowsky KG4FJC for their presentation on February 11, 2020 about the 220 MHz repeater network. (separate awards)

Mike McPherson KQ9P for his program presentation on March 10, 2020 on CubeSat updates.

Joe DeVincentes KO8V for his program presentation on May 12, 2020 about Digital Modes for Field Day

Bob Romanko AK4BR for his program presentation on June 16, 2020 about the ARRL rule changes

for Field Day

Michael Rein KA4JJD for his program presentation on June 16, 2020 about Ticks & Bugs for Field Day.

Michael Ellington KN4BFB for his program presentation on July 14,2020 about Network Radio Ed Berkowitz N3US for his program presentation on August 11, 2020 about RF Exposure Safety Bill Oleksy KF4IE for his program presentation on September 15, 2020 about the MARS Radio System

Greg Butler KW6GB for his program presentation on October 13, 2020 about WINLINK as an alternative communication system

Allen Graves AG4VA for his program presentation on November 10, 2020 about the SOTA

operations in Central Virginia

Monday Night Information Net: Presented by Larry, K4JZQ

Joe Giovanelli W2PVY Platinum MNIN for his 100% Perfect 2020 Attendance

Dave Damon K4DND Gold MNIN for his 90% 2020 Attendance

Jim Wilson K4BAV Gold MNIN for his 90% 2020 Attendance

Jim Owen, K4CGY Gold MNIN for his 90% 2020 Attendance

Ron Richey, K4RKA Bronze MNIN for his 60% 2020 Attendance

Special Awards: Presented by Ed, N3US

Allen Graves AG4VA Mountain Goat award for his SOTA Activities Bob Pattison K4DU for his organizing and conducting a Technician Class via ZOOM Ham of the Year Award to Joe DeVencentis KO8V President's Award to Michael Rein KA4JJD Special Achievement Award to John Porter KK4JP for for exemplary service as AARC Webmaster and facilitator of Zoom meetings and events

AARC 2020 Volunteer Examiners: Presented by Mark Gorlinsky, WA1A

Dave Damon K4DND as a Volunteer Examiner for 3 sessions Bob Pattison K4DU as a Volunteer Examiner for 3 sessions Ed Berkowitz N3US as a Volunteer Examiner for 2 sessions Michael Rein KA4JJD as a Volunteer Examiner for 2 sessions Don Eason N4UVA as a Volunteer Examiner for 1 session Bill Elliott N4VUF as a Volunteer Examiner for 1 session Michael McPherson KQ9P as a Volunteer Examiner for 1 session William Pond N0WP as a Volunteer Examiner for 1 session

Field Day 2020 Awards for Participating by operating and submitting logs to ARRL. Presented by Bob AK4BR AD6JV Bill Phillips AK4BR Bob Romanko K4BAV Jim Wilson K4CGY Jim Owen K4DND Dave Damon

- K4JZQ Larry Eicher
- K4RKA Ron Richey
- K4SHR Kevin Cwalina
- KA4JJD Michael Rein
- KE7HX John Norin
- KF4IE Bill Olesky
- KG4EIF Ben Kidd
- KK4JP John Porter
- KN4LAU Russell Sawyer
- KN4TBG Ian Callahan
- KO8V Joe DEVINCENTIS
- NOWP Bill Pond
- N3US Ed Berkowitz
- W2PVY Joe Giovanelli
- WR4I DENNIS TERRIBILE

AARC Most Celebrated Senior Members: Presented by Jim, K4BAV

- Joe Giovanelli W2PVY
- **Rich Freeman KI4QKD**
- Harry Dannals W2HD
- Stan Hazen K2SSB

Technician Class Instructors: Presented by Ed, N3US on behalf of K4DU

Hank Perritt K9KDF as Technician Class Instructor Skip Thacker WD4LT as Technician Class Instructor Jim Owen K4CGY as Technician Class Instructor Brian O'Rourke K4UL as Technician Class Instructor Joe Greenberg KJ4PE as Technician Class Instructor John Porter KK4JP as Technician Class Instructor

Appointed Leadership 2020: Presented by Jim K4BAV

Mark Gorlinsky WA1A as 2020 Volunteer Exam Liaison Bob Romanko AK4BR as 2020 Field Day Chairperson

Public Service Awards 2020: Presented by John Porter KK4JP

Dayton Haugh	AA4DH
Ian Callahan	KN4TBG
Larry Eicher	K4JZQ
Warren Yursik	KN4LYF
David Damon	K4DND
Gordon Wynn	WW4GW
Mike Richardson	KJ4MFN
Andrew Wiley	КК4ЅНО
Steve Hull	KN4TKR
Ron Richey	K4RKA
Greg Faust	N3PGS
Elmer Scott	KF4UCI
Bill Steo	K4FZE
Hank Perritt	K9KDF

Bill Sterling K4000

Honorable Mentions:

Michael Ellington	KN4BFB
Tommy Moore	W5BNT

Jim Owen K4CGY

Lenny Vincent N4LXP

Rich Freeman KI4QKV

Barbara Freeman KN4LAH

Wynn Solomon AI4MV

Hein Hvatum Award for Public Service

Mike Richardson KJ4MFN

AARC Meeting Attendee List for 12/8/2020

32 members & guests present.

Ed Berkowitz	N3US
Larry Eicher	K4JZQ
Steve Kramer	KN4CJI
John Porter	KK4JP
Patrice Porter	KM4RSL
Don Eason	N4UVA
Fred Felgenhauer	KO4AXU
Michael Ellington	KN4BFB
Jin Ellington	KO4EYC
Warren Yursik	KN4LYF
Wynn Solomon	AI4MV
Mike McPherson	KQ9P
Jim Owen	K4CGY
Ron Richey	K4RKA
Dave Damon	K4DND
Rich Freeman	KI4QKV
Dennis Terrible	WR4I
Jim Wilson	K4BAV
Benjamin Kidd	KG4EIF
Tim Freeze	KO4ELL
Joe DeVincentis	KO8V
Patrick Donohue	KK4UZS
Joe Giovanelli	W2PVY
Mark Gorlinsky	WA1A
Rich Freeman	KI4QKV
Barbara Freeman	KN4LAH
Julie Shaw	
Chris Shaw	K7CGS
Fred Rollins	K04JMI
Steven Hull	KN4TKR
Bill Pond	N0WP
Bob Romanko	AK4BR